Paralyzed by Peril filled Eyes

Waking from scream filled sleep,

Unaware of the dangers seen by the mind’s eye;

In an ugly war of self to have vision for the future,

I’ve been weighed down by the past and that which I know cannot be changed.

I would have,

I could have,

I should have;

I need to shut up.

 

No pointless question is going to change an all the more useless reflection,

And so time marches on as I leave my train of thought set to run off track.

As quickly as it started,

I don’t know how to stop it or necessarily where it will go.

Years that are best forgotten and meetings that unfortunately can’t be taken back,

I hesitate and occasionally dread the social realities of the present time.

Walking away from the world is easier said than done,

But staying around to see how things go seems to be even worse.

Worn out before I can start again since I’ve never learned rest,

My mortality is like a fool avoiding taxes except for the debt collector is my bed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

